Book Reviews
Paradox Interactive officially apologizes E-mail
User Rating: / 16
PoorBest 
Written by Matt Clyburn   
Friday, 01 February 2013 17:53

Paradox Interactive officially apologizes for offering TC2M as a gift through GamersGate.

 

http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/showthread.php?659068-Official-statement-from-Paradox-Interactive-regarding-Take-Command-2nd-Manassas

 

http://www.gamersgate.com/info/take-command

 
Posted: 1 year, 8 months ago by Chonaman #55219
As they should...
Posted: 1 year, 9 months ago by norb #55171
NorbSoftDev has to give a big shout out to JD at Slitherine for his help with this matter. He took on this matter from the beginning and did all the dealing with Paradox. Thanks JD!
Posted: 1 year, 9 months ago by Michael Slaunwhite #55166
Interesting... It takes guts to admit when you are wrong. Good for Matrix.

Discuss this article
You need to log in or register to participate in this discussion.
To The Gates Of Richmond: The Peninsula Campaign – A Review E-mail
User Rating: / 5
PoorBest 
Written by WriterJWA   
Tuesday, 08 November 2011 17:38

 By Jerad W. Alexander

Nov. 8, 2011

            Above all else, Stephen W. Sears’ 2001 account To The Gates Of Richmond: The Peninsula Campaign demonstrates the power of resolute combat leadership.  The book shows how determined, decisive action can often trump a larger opponent when willful leadership is applied. 

Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 November 2011 22:32
Read more...
 
Posted: 2 years, 11 months ago by NY Cavalry #38183
X Navy Seal wrote:
Jackson was horrible at the Seven Days, at least according to Foote ...



The battle of Glendale is where Jackson really dropped the ball. He failed to send his troops forward, which would have crushed two Union corps. It is said, that by that point in the campaign, he was thoroughly exhausted.

McClellan, himself, was off on some naval gunboat having dinner(during Glendale). He was oblivious to his army's well being.

I have read this book and it is very good. Anything Sears writes is worth reading.
Posted: 2 years, 11 months ago by X Navy Seal #37997
Jackson was horrible at the Seven Days, at least according to Foote ...
Posted: 2 years, 11 months ago by norb #37988
Another great review by our resident WriterJWA. Thank you!

Discuss this article
You need to log in or register to participate in this discussion.
Shiloh: A Novel E-mail
User Rating: / 7
PoorBest 
Written by Jerad W. Alexander   
Thursday, 27 October 2011 02:57

Shiloh:  A Novel
A Review
By Jerad W. Alexander
Oct. 26, 2011

 Of American Civil War novels there seems to be little that gets behind the eyes of rank-and-file soldiers to depict the war as close to realistic as possible.  Novels set in during the war deal with either the commanders, such as with Micheal and Jeff Shaara’s trilogy, or with the rewriting of history such as the works produced by the Newt Gingrich/William R. Forstchen team.  There are also novels of the more romantic, epic variety such as Bernard Cornwell’s Nathaniel Starbuck Chronicles and John Jakes North and South trilogy.  Novels of literary realism that depict the common soldier in action, such as Stephen Crane’s ever-present The Red Badge of Courage, are far less common.  Shelby Foote’s Shiloh: A Novel, however, fits in this category while including gems for fans of history. 

Read more...
 
Posted: 3 years ago by Little Powell #37663
Right on 2nd Texas. Save a swallow or two of that Beam for me.

Foote is one of the few people that I would give anything to go back and meet. Just to hear one of his stories. I'm going to have to pick that book up now.
Posted: 3 years ago by 2nd Texas Infantry #37658
Thats a great review, and I read that novel, years ago, and remember it fondly. I could smell the magnolia flowers and ardor of the Southern staff officer on Johnston's staff. But then, become embroiled in the "dirty work" of a Union soldier. Despite that, Foote, a terriffic story teller in the Faulk or Twain manner, absoulutely falls short against the more polished Michael Shaara's work. I loved Mr. Foote's work and met him on several ocassions, and as a Southern man, loved his story telling skills. His voice alone is haunting and of the peroid and would transfer better to an audio version, but alas, its gone to the ages.
(FWI) He Passed almost the same time as Brian C. Pohanka, another friend, victor of the cause. I knew, and remember both men vividly. Sorry for my spelling and writing skills, Jim Beam is not condusive to great litteracy.
Posted: 3 years ago by norb #37654
No, I did not write this. WriterJWA has very kindly offered to continue our book review section. I just have to give him instructions on how to post these himself. But he emailed me his first article. If you like this sort of content on the site, please leave him some feedback.

I've also put the Book Review section back on the home page, since he will be sending more of his work to the site.

Thanks WriterJWA!

Discuss this article
You need to log in or register to participate in this discussion.
Review: A History of the 3rd South Carolina Regiment E-mail
User Rating: / 7
PoorBest 
Written by Brett Schulte   
Tuesday, 14 April 2009 17:00
Review: A History of the 3rd South Carolina Regiment: Lee’s Reliables

from TOCWOC - A Civil War Blog by Brett Schulte


This is the fourth and final review of the inaugural titles in the South Carolina Regimental-Roster Set series from Broadfoot Publishing Company. A significant portion of each review will show you how this particular volume compared to the others in the series in terms of regimental history length, amount of annotation, depth and print size of rosters, bibliography, illustrations, and maps. I do this to show readers just how different each volume can be. The South Carolina Regimental-Roster Set bears a striking external appearance to the H.E. Howard Virginia Regimental Histories series. These books were, in fact designed as a South Carolina answer to the Virginia unit histories. Broadfoot hopes to publish 50 volumes in this set, but that plan is dependent on how well these and subsequent books in the series sell. If you are interested in seeing this entire series printed, I encourage you to pick up these volumes immediately rather than put off purchases until later.

Last Updated on Thursday, 16 April 2009 12:29
Read more...
 

Discuss this article
You need to log in or register to participate in this discussion.
Review: Crisis of Command in the Army of the Potomac E-mail
Written by Brett Schulte   
Thursday, 09 April 2009 15:38
Review: Crisis of Command in the Army of the Potomac

from TOCWOC - A Civil War Blog by Brett Schulte

Simson, Jay W. Crisis of Command in the Army of the Potomac: Sheridan’s Search for an Effective General. McFarland (August 14, 2008). 245 pages, maps, illustrations, index. ISBN: 978-0786436538 $39.95 (Paperback).


As a Civil War general, how would you go about avoiding the wrath of Union Major General Phil Sheridan? The three generals Sheridan sacked, William W. Averell, Alfred T. A. Torbert, and Gouvernour K. Warren, probably should have asked rising star Ranald Mackenzie according to author Jay W. Simson. In Crisis of Command in the Army of the Potomac: Sheridan’s Search for an Effective General, author Simson covers the Civil War careers of the Union generals above, detailing how three of them met their demise at the hands of Sheridan while the fourth, Ranald Mackenzie, earned his praise and admiration.

Last Updated on Friday, 10 April 2009 02:36
Read more...
 

Discuss this article
You need to log in or register to participate in this discussion.
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 3