Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

Cavalry routing
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Cavalry routing

Cavalry routing 1 year, 8 months ago #1

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 159
In the new patch is there any fix to stop Cavalry routing every time they capture guns.
Leicestershire

Re: Cavalry routing 1 year, 8 months ago #2

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3371
roy64 wrote:
In the new patch is there any fix to stop Cavalry routing every time they capture guns.


Cavalry will by default only cause guns to surrender, no capturing, regardless of OOB structure. So I guess the answer is yes since squadrons won't man guns after capture.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)
The following user(s) said Thank You: Martin James, roy64

Re: Cavalry routing 1 year, 8 months ago #3

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 159
RebBugler wrote:
roy64 wrote:
In the new patch is there any fix to stop Cavalry routing every time they capture guns.


Cavalry will by default only cause guns to surrender, no capturing, regardless of OOB structure. So I guess the answer is yes since squadrons won't man guns after capture.


Excellent news, Cavalry capturing guns then routing was a real game killer for me. It stopped me playing Waterloo. Thanks again Reb.
Leicestershire

Re: Cavalry routing 1 week, 5 days ago #4

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 159
I just noticed with horror my old guard was routing on mass. Then I noticed they were capturing guns. Does this mean guns only surrender to Cavalry? If so this is another thing that needs fixing.
Leicestershire

Re: Cavalry routing 1 week, 5 days ago #5

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3371
In the last and final patch cavalry automatically makes artillery surrender, not capturing and giving up troops.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Cavalry routing 1 week, 5 days ago #6

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 159
RebBugler wrote:
In the last and final patch cavalry automatically makes artillery surrender, not capturing and giving up troops.


Yes I know that, It's the infantry I'm talking about.
Leicestershire

Re: Cavalry routing 1 week, 5 days ago #7

  • DarkRob
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 112
roy64 wrote:
RebBugler wrote:
In the last and final patch cavalry automatically makes artillery surrender, not capturing and giving up troops.


Yes I know that, It's the infantry I'm talking about.


When you capture artillery with infantry you crew the guns. Each gun requires 30 men to man the gun. These 30 men are subtracted from the infantry unit that captures the gun. So if one infantry unit alone captures an 8 gun battery, they will lose 240 men who become the gun crews. This is not a bug, its how the game works. If you assign an infantry battalion, or a brigade a goal of capturing a lot of artillery, they wont be good for much afterwards because they will be severely depleted. As I said, this how the game works.

You can see an extreme example of this at 20:35 of my video covering "Napoleons Finale" as Aulard and Schmitz's brigades are detailed to capture the entire allied gun line in rear of La Haye Sainte, at least 20 guns. They are severely depleted afterwards and nearly wiped out, but that's what they are for, to clear the guns and make way for the Imperial Guard.

"One crowded hour of glorious life is worth an age without a name" - The Call by Thomas Mordaunt
The following user(s) said Thank You: roy64

Re: Cavalry routing 1 week, 5 days ago #8

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 159
DarkRob wrote:
roy64 wrote:
RebBugler wrote:
In the last and final patch cavalry automatically makes artillery surrender, not capturing and giving up troops.


Yes I know that, It's the infantry I'm talking about.


When you capture artillery with infantry you crew the guns. Each gun requires 30 men to man the gun. These 30 men are subtracted from the infantry unit that captures the gun. So if one infantry unit alone captures an 8 gun battery, they will lose 240 men who become the gun crews. This is not a bug, its how the game works. If you assign an infantry battalion, or a brigade a goal of capturing a lot of artillery, they wont be good for much afterwards because they will be severely depleted. As I said, this how the game works.

You can see an extreme example of this at 20:35 of my video covering "Napoleons Finale" as Aulard and Schmitz's brigades are detailed to capture the entire allied gun line in rear of La Haye Sainte, at least 20 guns. They are severely depleted afterwards and nearly wiped out, but that's what they are for, to clear the guns and make way for the Imperial Guard.



I thought as much but wasn't sure.
Leicestershire
  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.41 seconds