Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

Cavalry Question
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: Cavalry Question

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #61

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 159
I TC a squadron if I want to capture guns otherwise I use the Commander, which is TC'd , to issue orders to the squadrons.
Leicestershire

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #62

  • DarkRob
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 112
roy64 wrote:
I TC a squadron if I want to capture guns otherwise I use the Commander, which is TC'd , to issue orders to the squadrons.


You can actually use the charge button from the brigade commander to make the whole brigade charge en masse, even if all the squadrons are on TC as well. Some buttons of the grog toolbar work from the brigade commander even if all his units are also under TC. Charge, double quick, retreat etc etc, all work from the brigade commander even if his units are all TC'd. It makes getting your units to approach the way you want them to and then charge en masse extremely easy.
"One crowded hour of glorious life is worth an age without a name" - The Call by Thomas Mordaunt

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #63

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3371
DarkRob wrote:
roy64 wrote:
I TC a squadron if I want to capture guns otherwise I use the Commander, which is TC'd , to issue orders to the squadrons.


You can actually use the charge button from the brigade commander to make the whole brigade charge en masse, even if all the squadrons are on TC as well. Some buttons of the grog toolbar work from the brigade commander even if all his units are also under TC. Charge, double quick, retreat etc etc, all work from the brigade commander even if his units are all TC'd. It makes getting your units to approach the way you want them to and then charge en masse extremely easy.


If one is able to control TC'd units via the brigade commander then there has been a drastic change of the TC function at those levels that I'm not aware of. Besides eliminating AI control, TC should be, and has been, the ultimate detach command. If I find the time and patience to test this unplugged game, I'll check and see if the TC function has been reconfigured.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #64

  • DarkRob
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 112
RebBugler wrote:
DarkRob wrote:
roy64 wrote:
I TC a squadron if I want to capture guns otherwise I use the Commander, which is TC'd , to issue orders to the squadrons.


You can actually use the charge button from the brigade commander to make the whole brigade charge en masse, even if all the squadrons are on TC as well. Some buttons of the grog toolbar work from the brigade commander even if all his units are also under TC. Charge, double quick, retreat etc etc, all work from the brigade commander even if his units are all TC'd. It makes getting your units to approach the way you want them to and then charge en masse extremely easy.


If one is able to control TC'd units via the brigade commander then there has been a drastic change of the TC function at those levels that I'm not aware of. Besides eliminating AI control, TC should be, and has been, the ultimate detach command. If I find the time and patience to test this unplugged game, I'll check and see if the TC function has been reconfigured.


It has always been this way with the grog toolbar in SOWWL. Always. Since the first iteration of the grog toolbar. You don't have complete control from the brigade commander. Units won't respond to move or formation orders from the brigade commander while TC'd. But they will charge, retreat, double quick etc etc. What I do is just assign the move and formations while the unit's are under AI control, then just TC all units so nothing interrupts them. Once they come within range of enemy fire, I double quick them(again this works from the brigade commander even if all units are TC'd) once within range hit the charge button to make the whole brigade charge. Keep mashing the charge button to continue the charge without any units stopping to reform. Easy peezy. Please don't change this, I actually like it and abuse the hell outta of it.
"One crowded hour of glorious life is worth an age without a name" - The Call by Thomas Mordaunt
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #65

  • DarkRob
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 112
Also there are any number of other bugs and exploits that I abuse the hell out of. If you start down this path, it's a very long path. The game is pretty much over anyway. We're all waiting on the next SOW game now.
"One crowded hour of glorious life is worth an age without a name" - The Call by Thomas Mordaunt
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #66

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3371
DarkRob wrote:
RebBugler wrote:
DarkRob wrote:
roy64 wrote:
I TC a squadron if I want to capture guns otherwise I use the Commander, which is TC'd , to issue orders to the squadrons.


You can actually use the charge button from the brigade commander to make the whole brigade charge en masse, even if all the squadrons are on TC as well. Some buttons of the grog toolbar work from the brigade commander even if all his units are also under TC. Charge, double quick, retreat etc etc, all work from the brigade commander even if his units are all TC'd. It makes getting your units to approach the way you want them to and then charge en masse extremely easy.


If one is able to control TC'd units via the brigade commander then there has been a drastic change of the TC function at those levels that I'm not aware of. Besides eliminating AI control, TC should be, and has been, the ultimate detach command. If I find the time and patience to test this unplugged game, I'll check and see if the TC function has been reconfigured.


It has always been this way with the grog toolbar in SOWWL. Always. Since the first iteration of the grog toolbar. You don't have complete control from the brigade commander. Units won't respond to move or formation orders from the brigade commander while TC'd. But they will charge, retreat, double quick etc etc. What I do is just assign the move and formations while the unit's are under AI control, then just TC all units so nothing interrupts them. Once they come within range of enemy fire, I double quick them(again this works from the brigade commander even if all units are TC'd) once within range hit the charge button to make the whole brigade charge. Keep mashing the charge button to continue the charge without any units stopping to reform. Easy peezy. Please don't change this, I actually like it and abuse the hell outta of it.


Confirmed! Since I never TC level 6 units because previously it was always a micromanagement nightmare to do so, I just flat didn't test this. Why they detach with TC on sometimes and not others is beyond me, guess that's a European touch that broke the TC rules to accommodate Napoleonic style warfare.

To be clear though, it's not a Grog Toolbar anomaly, it's the TC function that's evolved from it's ACW days.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)
The following user(s) said Thank You: DarkRob

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #67

  • DarkRob
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 112
RebBugler wrote:
DarkRob wrote:
RebBugler wrote:
DarkRob wrote:
roy64 wrote:
I TC a squadron if I want to capture guns otherwise I use the Commander, which is TC'd , to issue orders to the squadrons.


You can actually use the charge button from the brigade commander to make the whole brigade charge en masse, even if all the squadrons are on TC as well. Some buttons of the grog toolbar work from the brigade commander even if all his units are also under TC. Charge, double quick, retreat etc etc, all work from the brigade commander even if his units are all TC'd. It makes getting your units to approach the way you want them to and then charge en masse extremely easy.


If one is able to control TC'd units via the brigade commander then there has been a drastic change of the TC function at those levels that I'm not aware of. Besides eliminating AI control, TC should be, and has been, the ultimate detach command. If I find the time and patience to test this unplugged game, I'll check and see if the TC function has been reconfigured.


It has always been this way with the grog toolbar in SOWWL. Always. Since the first iteration of the grog toolbar. You don't have complete control from the brigade commander. Units won't respond to move or formation orders from the brigade commander while TC'd. But they will charge, retreat, double quick etc etc. What I do is just assign the move and formations while the unit's are under AI control, then just TC all units so nothing interrupts them. Once they come within range of enemy fire, I double quick them(again this works from the brigade commander even if all units are TC'd) once within range hit the charge button to make the whole brigade charge. Keep mashing the charge button to continue the charge without any units stopping to reform. Easy peezy. Please don't change this, I actually like it and abuse the hell outta of it.


Confirmed! Since I never TC level 6 units because previously it was always a micromanagement nightmare to do so, I just flat didn't test this. Why they detach with TC on sometimes and not others is beyond me, guess that's a European touch that broke the TC rules to accommodate Napoleonic style warfare.

To be clear though, it's not a Grog Toolbar anomaly, it's the TC function that's evolved from it's ACW days.


I'm actually surprised to hear that. Because you can't do any of the things I described with the bugles and flags toolbar. With the bugles and flags toolbar units under TC won't respond to any orders from the brigade commander, including charge, retreat etc etc.
"One crowded hour of glorious life is worth an age without a name" - The Call by Thomas Mordaunt

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #68

  • DarkRob
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 112
Also, now it probably makes more sense why I have no use for attack march. It's made lrrelevent by how TC works.
"One crowded hour of glorious life is worth an age without a name" - The Call by Thomas Mordaunt
The following user(s) said Thank You: roy64

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #69

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3371
I'm actually surprised to hear that. Because you can't do any of the things I described with the bugles and flags toolbar. With the bugles and flags toolbar units under TC won't respond to any orders from the brigade commander, including charge, retreat etc etc.


No surprise or mystery, B&F uses the classic TC functioning I've described above, the Grog Toolbar uses the TC functioning you (DarkRob) describe. The name of the command, tcommon, hasn't changed, its functionality has.

Thanks for pointing this out, another reason for steering clear of gameplay questions since I don't have a firm grasp on how things work anymore.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)
The following user(s) said Thank You: DarkRob

Re: Cavalry Question 1 week, 5 days ago #70

  • DarkRob
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 112
RebBugler wrote:
I'm actually surprised to hear that. Because you can't do any of the things I described with the bugles and flags toolbar. With the bugles and flags toolbar units under TC won't respond to any orders from the brigade commander, including charge, retreat etc etc.


No surprise or mystery, B&F uses the classic TC functioning I've described above, the Grog Toolbar uses the TC functioning you (DarkRob) describe. The name of the command, tcommon, hasn't changed, its functionality has.

Thanks for pointing this out, another reason for steering clear of gameplay questions since I don't have a firm grasp on how things work anymore.


No problem Reb. I've poured two years of my life into breaking down this games mechanics. As a result of this I've discovered alot of abusable things. From how overpowered skirmishers are, to how to manipulate engage distances, to finding huge loopholes in how to win scenarios, to creating battle formations the AI is incapable of cracking. Obviously I found all this stuff after the game came out. I'm good at what I do. Watch my video series on YouTube and you'll see, my work speaks for itself. Make me a play tester and I will find all this kind of stuff in the next SOW so it can be eliminated before it's released.
"One crowded hour of glorious life is worth an age without a name" - The Call by Thomas Mordaunt
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler
Time to create page: 0.41 seconds