Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

Expanded Toolbar - Grog
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: Expanded Toolbar - Grog

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 4 months, 2 weeks ago #181

  • Pop1
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 20
Reb,

thanks for the clarification. I'll get back to you with results as soon as I can.

Pop 1
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 4 months, 2 weeks ago #182

  • Pop1
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 20
Hi Reb,

As you know I have been looking into the issue I have with the formation command button being inactive at certain times.

The first point to make is that is that no other MODs were active during the tests, in fact I removed them completely from the MOD folder. Only the Grog Extended Toolbar was present and active.

I have managed to find some condition which I can replicate every time I play the scenario, so I hope you can replicate these conditions as well. I have stuck to default scenarios because you will have easy access the these, although I have experienced the issue playing sandbox scenarios.

So far I have not see the issue affect artillery commanders or cavalry formations. I have done limited testing in the sandbox area with cavalry and have not yet had an issue.

You will remember from previous posts we called the generic formation button 'Condition A' and the currently adopted formation button 'Condition B'; I have used these terms to describe what happens in the scenarios.

There are three scenarios you can look at, one from the initial game and one from each DLC:

WL02, LG01 and QB01.

WL02 - King of Westphalia.
Jerome's Division with Bdes Soye and Baudin, arty bty Meuiner, all of which start the scenario with condition A except the artillery which has condition B. All of the buttons are 'active', i.e. you can mouse over them, they turn yellow and you can select a formation.

Baudin, killed off at the very start of the scenario, is replaced by another commander. If you select this commander and give it a movement order, either directly on the screen or via the command map, then condition A button appears and is not active. The instruction can be with or without an accompanying formation order, it does not seem to make any difference.

LG01 - Ziethen's Corps at St Amand.
Ziethen (-), Div Jagow, Bdes (Regiments) Hymmen, Friccius and von Rudorff. All start the scenario in condition B with TC on.

If you TC off Hymmen then the formation button changes to condition A, which is inactive. This does not happen with the other commanders.

I have tried various order and stance options for Hymmen, and was initially confused as to what caused the issue as I was using couriers and there was a delay getting the instructions to the commander. When I decided to switch couriers off it quickly became apparent that it was the TC off (clicking the yellow flag button at the top left of the toolbar) which initiated the problem.


QB01 - The Namur Road.
Bachelu's Division at Quatre Bras. Bachelu, Bdes Husson and Campi, arty bty DeHaulles.
Bachelu and the artillery start in condition B. Both Bdes start in condition A, which are active.

Order Campi forward, pick any formation it does not seen to matter. Once he becomes engaged his orders automatically change to attack, I think this has something to do with the battlescript? Give Campi another move / formation order and the formation button goes to condition A, which is inactive.

The only common thing I have found about these three commander is that they are mentioned in the battlescript file for the respective scenarios, but I don't really understand exactly what all of the entries mean. The battlescript would not, however, have an effect on sandbox games, and I have experienced the issue there. You mentioned in your previous post about the drills file, I have your latest version allow columns to engage, but the issue with the formation button pre-dates this.

I hope you can replicate the problem from the info I have given you and, I hope, provide a solution. I really like your toolbars, I use the GB one as well, and it after buying this game the first thing I did was download the toolbar. Sorry for the lengthy post.

Pop 1
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 4 months, 2 weeks ago #183

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
Pop 1

I found the bug with your 'QB01 - The Namur Road' example, the DEAD formations button appeared as you explained. I'm almost sure what causes it, but the fix may take a while. I never experienced it before because I always TC brigade officers going into battle, and as far as I can tell, this bug only occurs initially with unTC'd officers close to the enemy when they start ordering their battalions around (when they're in AI mode). I could live with the bug as is because unTC'd officers in the face of the enemy can't be controlled anyway, they're not going to accept a formation even if the button worked. However, I found the bug to be worse because when I TC'd the officer back to gain control, the formations button still stayed DEAD, even with a context menu formation selected. This MUST be fixed!

Thanks again and again! Hopefully I'll have a fix available for you and other folks to test in the near future. In the meantime, learn to fight with TC'd brigade officers. BTW, I did find a way to wake up the DEAD button, select one of the red, Hot Button formations.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 4 months, 2 weeks ago #184

  • Pop1
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 20
Reb,

glad you were able to replicate the issue and that you think you can fix it, thanks for taking the time to do this.

I'm beginning to think TC on for engaged officers is the way to play, I find them a bit suicidal when left to their own devices, at times just advancing on their own into enemy formations!

Anyway, I looked for the way to wake up the DEAD button as you suggested 0 using one one of the red Hot Button formations. I could not see any more options on the toolbar, is that a keyboard command?
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 4 months, 1 week ago #185

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
Pop1 wrote:
I'm beginning to think TC on for engaged officers is the way to play, I find them a bit suicidal when left to their own devices, at times just advancing on their own into enemy formations!

Anyway, I looked for the way to wake up the DEAD button as you suggested 0 using one one of the red Hot Button formations. I could not see any more options on the toolbar, is that a keyboard command?


Depending on the situation, I TC off once most of a brigade's battalions are engaged. Then the brigade generally won't lose it's line and the officer is free to support stressed units. And, regarding your next question, to disengage I use the Hot Button (attackmarch,columns,run) on the destination context menu. It works better than retreat because you have control. As soon as all units are out of harms way hit another formation to slow them down and direct them. So, again you see why I never saw that DEAD button, I never use the formations buttons with TC off engagement situations. I just TC on to establish engagements, and a Hot Button to get out of them.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 months, 2 weeks ago #186

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
Pop 1

I found the bug with your 'QB01 - The Namur Road' example, the DEAD formations button appeared as you explained. I'm almost sure what causes it, but the fix may take a while.


Found the error and fixed it by at least testing the above example. I had inadvertently left out the brigade infantry call for the line formation, so hopefully this is the same error you saw in the other examples. Here's the fixed version to test, if it passes testing it will be posted as update 5.4. Thanks!

Link updated to first post as update 5.4
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 months, 2 weeks ago #187

  • Pop1
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 20
Hi Reb,

I will test the the update during the week and get back to you with the results.

Pop 1
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 months, 2 weeks ago #188

  • Pop1
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 20
Reb,

I have tested on the three scenarios and also a couple of sandbox games and did not get the fault, so it looks lite it's fixed - thank you.

I have been playing various options with TC'ed officers as you suggested, had to modify my style of play as it does not work very well with couriers. I expect you play without couriers? That may explain why I have no luck with your Chickamauga scenarios, I must try these again now without couriers.

Another question on the toolbar if I may. What is the split brigade function for and how is it best used? I cannot find an explanation of it anywhere in your posts, and my attempts with it so far just seem to spawn additional commanders for the brigade which take over command of all existing units leaving the original brigade commander with no units. The join brigade button just removes one of the commanders. If you could give a few tips on how best to use these functions that would be helpful.

Thanks again for fixing the bug.

Pop1
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 months, 2 weeks ago #189

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
Thank you ever so much for reporting and helping me find and fix that DEAD formations button bug!

Regarding the split brigade question, here's my report submitted for patch 1. It was not considered as a top ten concern, so wasn't addressed.

The command splitbrig:1 doesn't work
Description: When working correctly the brigade is split in half with half of the battalions assigned to a spawned officer.

Presently only the officer is spawned. This would be acceptable because the 'guard' command, which works now, could be used by assigning battalions to guard the newly spawned officer. However, the spawned officer sometimes inherits the brigade, leaving the original brigade officer with no troops. The spawned officer anomaly is random and I can't determine the cause. The spawned officer is always a poor commander rated at a 1 or 2 experience level and should never be the brigade commander.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 months, 2 weeks ago #190

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
Update 5.4

Fixed the DEAD formations button issue discussed in the last few posts

Should dub this as the 'Pop 1 Patch' for all the help in rooting this bug out, thanks again
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog. No infantry fire. 3 months, 1 week ago #191

  • conjotter
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 184
Installed the latest expanded toolbar mod after buying Wavre and the latest game patch and now infantry units won't fire on each other.

Artillery fires normally and infantry will charge.

But there is no musket fire even when troops are 50 yards apart in clear terrain.

I have tested this with Wavre, Quatre Bras and the tutorial -- accessing them all through the scenario button.

No infantry fire.

Regards, CJ

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 months, 1 week ago #192

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
conjotter

Did some more testing with the latest update and units engaged normally, when within 150 yds with a clear LOS. It's been over a year since I've seen a unit not engaging when they should be, but I haven't experienced this anomaly recently. Large army battles can shut down the AI and engaging goes first, so be aware of that.

Please attach a save of units not engaged when they should be, I'll take a look and see if a new bug popped up.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 months, 1 week ago #193

  • conjotter
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 184
Thanks Reb.

Will do.

I have eliminated the KS and other mods and this still happens.

When I eliminate the toolbar completely and play the stock game the infantry units engage normally.

I've contacted Matrix to see if the problem is with the latest game update that came out just before Wavre was released.

Don't want to give up your great toolbar!
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 months, 1 week ago #194

  • conjotter
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 184
Hi Reb.

I did a complete reinstall of my Waterloo game and the infantry not-firing problem has been resolved.

It appears the glitch was with the latest game update, not your mod.

Thanks for responding to my questions and keep up the good work.

Your mods are most appreciated.

Regards, CJ
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 3 weeks ago #195

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 145
I'm having problems with the use roads command. When I give orders to a Battalion to move to a destination then press use roads only the Commander uses the roads so I have to select each Battalion then press use roads for them to use the roads, this happens when the Commander has the TC command set on or of. This doesn't happen all the time so what am I doing wrong?
Leicestershire

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 3 weeks ago #196

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
roy64 wrote:
I'm having problems with the use roads command. When I give orders to a Battalion to move to a destination then press use roads only the Commander uses the roads so I have to select each Battalion then press use roads for them to use the roads, this happens when the Commander has the TC command set on or of. This doesn't happen all the time so what am I doing wrong?


Procedure:

- Select brigade CO then destination
- Select formation and the brigade road march command (top line arrow)

This was tested both with the toolbar buttons and the context destination menu

BtnRoadMarchTest.jpg


Unfortunately, road column formations do have to be manually initiated, otherwise battalions will default to Column by Divisions (as shown above) - the Grog Toolbar's default movement formation

BTW, road march functions are disabled when the enemy is close.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)
The following user(s) said Thank You: roy64

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 3 weeks ago #197

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 145
It seems I was to close to the enemy. The use road command doesn't work if your under 1,000 yards is that correct?

The bugle button doesn't do anything either.
Leicestershire
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 3 weeks ago #198

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
roy64 wrote:
It seems I was to close to the enemy. The use road command doesn't work if your under 1,000 yards is that correct?

The bugle button doesn't do anything either.


Closer to 300 yds. or so I think...
Thanks for the report, it doesn't hurt to double check everything to make sure this toolbar is issue free.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)
The following user(s) said Thank You: roy64

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 3 weeks ago #199

  • DarkRob
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 84
I just updated to the newest grog toolbar. I had whatever version came with the game. The new one is exceptional. Much cleaner layout, way more options. More formations, more types of commands. Greatness all around.
"One crowded hour of glorious life is worth an age without a name" - The Call by Thomas Mordaunt
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 3 weeks ago #200

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 145
RebBugler wrote:
roy64 wrote:
It seems I was to close to the enemy. The use road command doesn't work if your under 1,000 yards is that correct?

The bugle button doesn't do anything either.


Closer to 300 yds. or so I think...
Thanks for the report, it doesn't hurt to double check everything to make sure this toolbar is issue free.


I'm having problems with the use road command when my brigades are over 900 yards away, even when I'm not visible to the enemy which seems odd.
Leicestershire
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 3 weeks ago #201

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
DarkRob wrote:
I just updated to the newest grog toolbar. I had whatever version came with the game. The new one is exceptional. Much cleaner layout, way more options. More formations, more types of commands. Greatness all around.


Much Appreciated!

That original Grog Toolbar was supposed to have been deleted with the first patch, in lieu of this version so I could keep it updated. I'm surprised that that initial buggy version even worked after the patch.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 3 weeks ago #202

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
roy64 wrote:
I'm having problems with the use road command when my brigades are over 900 yards away, even when I'm not visible to the enemy which seems odd.


Specifics please...
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 2 weeks ago #203

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 145
In what way?
Leicestershire

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 2 weeks ago #204

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
roy64 wrote:
In what way?


Is it not working at all? What level?

Keep in mind that once road march is initiated all troops will first cluster to the officer giving the order and then proceed to the road. I don't like this feature but it was necessary to keep the officer ahead in road marches so he spots the enemy up front before his troops butt heads with them while in a highly vulnerable formation.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 2 months, 2 weeks ago #205

  • roy64
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Grunt
  • Posts: 145
The use road command doesn't work if your under 1,000 yards. You said you thought it was closer to 300 yds. I'm still having problems at more than 900 yards away but less than a 1,000 yards away.

When you are behind a ridge & under a 1,000 yards away & the enemy can't see you the use road command still doesn't work which i thought was odd.

I understand that the brigades will not use the roads if you are to close to the enemy. Everything over a 1,000 yards works fine.
Leicestershire
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 weeks ago #206

  • Didz
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Cannon Fodder
  • Posts: 13
I recently bought this game in the steam sale, and although it claims to come with this mod, whatever steam supplied does not work the way this mod currently works. So, i downloaded the version from this forum and everything seems to be working as intended, except that my French infantry are not standing in three deep line as stated in the list of features. They are still standing two ranks deep.



Is there something I need to do to make this happen?
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 weeks ago #207

  • RebBugler
  • ( Moderator )
  • OFFLINE
  • NSD Designer
  • Posts: 3297
Didz wrote:
I recently bought this game in the steam sale, and although it claims to come with this mod, whatever steam supplied does not work the way this mod currently works. So, i downloaded the version from this forum and everything seems to be working as intended, except that my French infantry are not standing in three deep line as stated in the list of features. They are still standing two ranks deep.

Is there something I need to do to make this happen?


With the Grog Toolbar French line formations are three deep, no exceptions. As they lose troops the line will shrink but the three lines deep will maintain it's integrity. I'm guessing you played a stock scenario through the Waterloo scenarios section. The stock scenarios don't work properly with mods, in fact they usually crash. I've included the stock scenarios with the Grog Toolbar mod so they can be played through the User Scenarios section with no issues. If this is your issue please try again. Thanks for the report and I would appreciate feedback on whether my guess is correct, otherwise I'll look into this matter.
Expanded Toolbar - Grog Waterloo
Bugles & Flags Gettysburg - Toolbar, Flags, Scenarios and more...
__________________________________
In remembrance: John "2nd Texas" Bonin (1977 - 2012)

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 weeks ago #208

  • Didz
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Cannon Fodder
  • Posts: 13
RebBugler wrote:
Didz wrote:
I recently bought this game in the steam sale, and although it claims to come with this mod, whatever steam supplied does not work the way this mod currently works. So, i downloaded the version from this forum and everything seems to be working as intended, except that my French infantry are not standing in three deep line as stated in the list of features. They are still standing two ranks deep.

Is there something I need to do to make this happen?


With the Grog Toolbar French line formations are three deep, no exceptions. As they lose troops the line will shrink but the three lines deep will maintain it's integrity. I'm guessing you played a stock scenario through the Waterloo scenarios section. The stock scenarios don't work properly with mods, in fact they usually crash. I've included the stock scenarios with the Grog Toolbar mod so they can be played through the User Scenarios section with no issues. If this is your issue please try again. Thanks for the report and I would appreciate feedback on whether my guess is correct, otherwise I'll look into this matter.


I've been talking to someone on the Steam forum about mods and he has just told me pretty much the same thing.

Bit of a crock in my opinion. Why have the developers blocked mod improvements to the core game, may as well shoot yourself through the head and be done with it.

But I'll have a look tonight and see if I can find these user scenario's you mention. Normally, I wouldn't bother playing anything other than the campaign game, but if user scenario's is the only way to play with all the improvements then I'll give it a go.
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 weeks ago #209

  • Saddletank
  • ( User )
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Division Commander
  • Posts: 2126
Pretty sure the campaign game works with mods. It works with the KS Mod and you can fight a campaign between any two sides if you make up an OOB (the KS Mod comes with multiple OOBs covering most years/nations).

I'm currently fighting an 1808 campaign between the Spanish and French using the KS Mod.

You can also swap out the maps used by the campaign game for any maps you have by editing the wlcampaign.csv and wlcampaign.ini files.

BTW Gettysburg maps work with WL so if you own the older game just put the map and terrain files from them into your game's maps folder and away you go. Some editing of the minimap file is needed (a .dds file) but that is all.

In effect the campaign is just a big sandbox game and like any sandbox game you can load any OOB you like from a list of those installed or user-created.

Unfortunately the campaign is quite poor IMO because it runs in real time which leads to some very weird events. You can march from Charleroi to Antwerp in a few hours... It has a very limited selection of maps. You just seem to fight endless battles over the same few maps but editing the two files I listed above fixes this.

For me the longevity of this game lies in MP and in player-made PBEM campaigns with WL used to resolve the battles.
HITS & Couriers - a different and realistic way to play SoW MP.
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler

Re: Expanded Toolbar - Grog 3 weeks ago #210

  • Didz
  • ( User )
  • OFFLINE
  • Cannon Fodder
  • Posts: 13
Just finished playing through the Emperor's Plan scenario again using the launch from the User Scenario menu and the mods seems to be working when its launched from there.


God kmows how you are meant to beat this scenario though. This is a view of the fighting in the kitchen garden of Hougoumont. The 1ere Legere have occupied the garden in strength and are trying to force their way into the courtyard of the farm having driven off the German defenders, but despite being surrounded and in danger of being cut-off the english will not surrender the farm house.

'There is no beating these troops in spite of their generals. I always thought them bad soldiers, now I am sure of it. I turned their right, pierced their centre, broke them everywhere; the day was mine, and yet they did not know it and would not run.' Soult 1811
The following user(s) said Thank You: RebBugler
Time to create page: 1.27 seconds