Computer question

Game won't run. Keeps crashing. Hopefully we won't get any posts here, but if we do, we'll try to help you out. You can also post any bugs that you find here. IMPORTANT: Don't post mod related problems here!
NY Cavalry
Reactions:

Computer question

Post by NY Cavalry »

Because I'm not completely computer literate I'm posting here in trying to get some help.

The game works fine, but an issue has come up with my computer performance. I think my graphics card is failing and I'm not sure how to check if it is.

I've been playing this game for 4 or 5 months now (maybe longer) and my computers performance is really good. I have a Nividia GeForce 8800GT , it buzzes when I play the game ( I am guessing it has its own internal fan) and lately it has stopped buzzing and my performance has been greatly reduced. It comes and goes, at times graphics are great at times it is as if I have lag. I am not able to host games anymore and when I tried tonight we had some terrible lag. I can still play the game online, I just cannot host effectively.

I need to know what direction I should go in. How do I check if my graphics card is ok? ( the computer tells me that it is working properly???) Or may it be a bad ram stick? How should I trouble shoot this?

Any help would be appreciated.

my specs are:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5 GHZ
4.00 GB Ram
Vista

If it is my card what is a good replacement????
con20or
Reactions:

Re: Computer question

Post by con20or »

i have the 8800gtx, and yes it does have its own fan. Open up your case and make sure nothing is jamming it, a bit of dust etc. Something simlar happened me recently with my cpu fan, a wire had fallen into it.

No idea what to replace it with, but im not getting great fps on this game and considering upgrading some parts myself. Heres a good forum, helped me spec up my last pc.

Link
garyknowz
Reactions:

Post by garyknowz »

Hi NY Cavalry!