Cavalry Field: Am I missing something?

Stuck in a part of the game. Here's where the Grogs help the Newbies. Share your best strategies for winning and try someone elses.
Taiaha
Reactions:

Cavalry Field: Am I missing something?

Post by Taiaha »

I'm coming back to the game after a few months away, so I'm catching up with all the changes. I'm really loving a lot of the tweaks to sounds, artillery behavior (nice to see bursting shells actually doing damage) and I was excited to see the cavalry field scenarios now included. Until I played a few of them.

Now let me say at the outset that before my enforced absence from the Civil War arena I'd beaten all but two of the other scenarios (we want those guns, and Stannard which it is refreshing/disturbing, lo these many months gone, to see is still not recording my scores!) and some of those promotions came with crushing margins. I'm also a TC2M vet, so I know my way around.

The cavalry field scenarios have me beat, however. After ten tries, I'm basically concluding the Brinkerhoff ridge, for example is unwinnable, at least for me. I've tried multiple strategies, but I feel like I'm not so much being defeated by the enemy as I am by the scenario design (sorry Reb Bugler!). With a lot of luck I can get to about 3200. 4200 seems unreachable (and I've also felt that the point totals for the other scenarios I've played seem to have been set extremely high given the tight artificial constraints that some of these scenarios come with).