Managing Regiments

Stuck in a part of the game. Here's where the Grogs help the Newbies. Share your best strategies for winning and try someone elses.
Group Captain Mandrake
Reactions:

Managing Regiments

Post by Group Captain Mandrake »

Some help please as I am new to this. I want to try some MP but I fear it will be an ass-hander.

1) When regiments are set to "Advance" or "Fall Back", does it impede their rate of fire?

2) At what range will a regiment auto-melee?

3) Does an AI regiment falling back imply weakness?

4) How do you know when a regiment is going to break? I know it must have to do with fatigue/morale/experience but what I am asking is can you tell in a second or two just by looking at morale/fatigue in game? Gestalt? Fifth sense? Kirlian photography?

5) When a regiment is heavily engaged and about to break what is the best option? Is more harm done letting them break (assuming they don't rout) or ordering a retreat?

6)Also, what about regiment overlaps? I notice that two regiments will appear to fire even if part of the regiments overlap and even if one line is partly in front of the other on level ground. Are they both still firing at full efficacy?

7) Terrain and big regiments. If a wing of a regiment is sticking out of a wooded area but the flag is in the woods and indicates so, does the portion of the regiment in the open still get the terrain advantage? The reason I ask is there is no doubt that a regiment taking some flank fire will show soldiers falling on the wing taking the fire.

8) Same question as 7 concerning spotting and regimental fragments sticking out in the open.
Last edited by Group Captain Mandrake on Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Blaugrana
Reactions:

Re: Managing Regiments

Post by Blaugrana »

I'm afraid I don't have complete answers to most of these questions and will be reading with interest the replies from more expert players when they come.