Chancellorsville #2

Stuck in a part of the game. Here's where the Grogs help the Newbies. Share your best strategies for winning and try someone elses.
Overparduffer
Reactions:

Chancellorsville #2

Post by Overparduffer »

So I'm pretty new to the series. Playing on normal difficulty I was able to win a victory in scenario #1 as CSA. I went to scenario #2 and held my own for a while but ultimately got routed. Started by telling all 3 infantry brigades to advance 300 yds at which point they were in the fight. I saw pretty quickly that I was about to get flanked in the woods on the right so I threw my reserve brigade in to shore up the right. In the meantime my left flank was making headware and pushed back the first wave of rebels. Ultimately though more rebels joined the fight and my left eventually wore out and got routed. At that point they wheeled on my right flank and the batlle was over. Suggestions? It seemed like I was totally outnumbered which made it pretty difficult to flank anyone. I guess I could have initially pulled back to the nearby hilltop and tried to defend that position.

I've been trying to use the courier system rather than micromanage my brigades and I was a little confused on the commands. During the division tutorial when I asked one of the commanders to take up position on the left flank of so and so, he started that way but left his regiments behind. Maybe they were going to eventually move but I didn't have the patience to wait for that to happen and took control.
Little Powell
Reactions:

Re: Chancellorsville #2

Post by Little Powell »

Ok so no one is going to help out here? I guess I'll have to chime in.. Sigh.. :laugh:

I can see how this one would be tough with couriers. Well, any scenario is going to be a lot tougher with couriers. However, it may not be as hard as you're making it. Couple of pointers below:
SPOILER: SHOW
Hope this helps. And keep us updated on your progress. :)
con20or
Reactions:

Post by con20or »