Newbie: What is the OOB and how do I utilize it?

Stuck in a part of the game. Here's where the Grogs help the Newbies. Share your best strategies for winning and try someone elses.
longstreetsredemption
Reactions:

Newbie: What is the OOB and how do I utilize it?

Post by longstreetsredemption »

I'm new to the game, SOWG, and still learning the game. I'm getting the hang of Brigade level (maybe even Division level). Anything above these two becomes too hectic for me. Meaning, I have a hard time managing the corps, divisions, when in large scale battles. I have a feeling it comes down to not understanding how to use TC and the OOB. Could anyone share with me what the OOB is and how I might be able to better manage a corps or army? Thanks
the reb
Reactions:

Re: Newbie: What is the OOB and how do I utilize it?

Post by the reb »

OOB is Order of Battle, a listing of the Army Command Organization. Knowing the OOB of your army is very important for keeping Corps, Divisions together. It's also important in knowing your opposition strengths and talents too. In Sandbox for example, the OOB is listed on the page where you select map and OOB. You get a bonus when your troops are near there leader, so get to know your OOB by memory. Hope this helps, it's the best I can do to make it simple.....There are threads that explain how to make and modify OOB if you wish. Web searches are neat to review too. Not sure I can explain the relation between OOB and TC.Have fun.....

the reb,
Last edited by the reb on Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Forget something
the reb
Reactions:

Post by the reb »

I play mostly Sandbox, that is I play against the AI. I guess there could be a realism argument between playing Courier or not, but I micro manage, which if you feel you enjoy the game this way, you might find this helpful.